2025-27 State Board Committee Assignments

Elected Positions	
Chair	Cathy Hopkins
Vice Chair	Danny Zeck
Legislative Liaisons	Cathy Hopkins, Danny Zeck
Board Policy Committee (3 positions)	Betty Arnold,
	Dennis Hershberger,
	Melanie Haas (Chair)
KSHSAA (Kansas State High School Activities Association	Board of Directors:
Note: fiscal year appointments	Jim Porter new (2025 - 2027)
	Michelle Dombrosky ongoing (2024-2026)
	Executive Board of Directors:
	Jim Porter ongoing (2024-2026)
Kansas State Legislature Education Funding Task Force	Jim Porter and Superintendents Brad Neunswander and Cory Gibson

Committee / Organization	State Board Representative
Agriculture in the Classroom	Dennis Hershberger
Attorney General Juvenile Justice Oversight Committee	Connie O'Brien
Capital Improvement (Bond & Interest) State Aid Review Committee	Jim Porter
Charter and Virtual Education Advisory Council	Betty Arnold
Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force	Beryl New
Coordinating Council (inactive)	Cathy Hopkins and Danny Zeck
Education Commission of the States	Melanie Haas
Kansas Advisory Committee on Indigenous Education KACIE	Connie O'Brien
Kansas Assoc. for Conservation & Environmental Education KACEE	Danny Zeck
Kansas Council for Economic Education KCEE	Debby Potter

Kansas Fdn. for Excellence / Kansas Teacher of the Year	Beryl New
Kansas Master Teacher Award Selection Committee	Beryl New
Kansas Prescription Drug & Opioid Advisory Committee	Dennis Hershberger
KSD/KNEA Bargaining Team (School for the Deaf)	Michelle Dombrosky
Liaison to Kansas State School for the Blind KSSB	Connie O'Brien
Liaison to Kansas School for the Deaf KSD	Michelle Dombrosky
Professional Standards Board Liaison	Cathy Hopkins
School Mental Health Advisory Council	Betty Arnold
Special Education Advisory Council SEAC	Melanie Haas
Teacher Vacancy and Supply Committee	Cathy Hopkins and Debby Potter

Appointments by Either Commissioner or Governor		
Governor's Education Council (inactive) (Commissioner)	Cathy Hopkins (Chair position)	
Interstate Migrant Education Council (Commissioner)	Betty Arnold	
Kansas Advisory Committee for Career and Technical Education (Commissioner)	Danny Zeck	
Kansas Volunteer Commission (Governor)	Melanie Haas	

Nationally Chosen Positions Held by Board Members	
NASBE Whole Child Study Group	Betty Arnold